The Known Zone

Butchart Gardens #2 230

I wonder how many times in our lives we stand at the bottom of a set of stairs, look up and ask ourselves, “I wonder where these lead?”  Then turn around and walk away without ever taking the first step to find out.  How many opportunities have we missed because we were too afraid to take the first step into the unknown? I know for me the times are numerous. I would count myself amongst those of you who are not risk takers and like to live life in the “known zone”. However lately I have found myself trying to catch glimpses of what the “unknown zone” has to offer.  Unfortunately in order to really see what this “unknown zone” is about, I have to first leave my comfortable, dependable, reliable, and predictable “known zone” and enter into the “uncomfortable, undependable, unreliable, and unpredictable “unknown zone”.  The few times that I have jumped zones have been great experiences for me.  Notice I said “few” times.  I’m still fighting with myself to “let go” and jump into the unknown but I have managed to do it. 🙂

I would like to challenge you that when the next time you find yourself standing at the bottom of a set of stairs and wonder where they might lead, take that first step! Then keep on climbing because you will NEVER know where those stairs lead unless you keep putting one foot in front of the other. It’s ok to hold the rail as you climb.  It’s also ok if you take a bit longer than other people to reach the top. The important factor is that you are making the climb, taking a chance, stepping outside the “known zone”.  As you climb those stairs you will begin to feel a determination to get to the top that you never had by just looking up from the bottom of the staircase. 

I think we are sometimes too content to just look up from the bottom of the staircase.  We are so comfortable in our “known zone” that we don’t even question what we might be missing by not taking that first step.  I wonder what would happen if we got the courage enough to step outside our safe “known zone” and entered into the dangerous “unknown zone”?  Where or how would we live our lives differently?  How would we then allow God to use us?  Do you think that sometimes we miss opportunities that God has for us because we are too afraid to leave our “known zones”?  Romans 8:31 states, “…If God is for us, who can be against us?”  I like to add the word “what” along side of the “who” to help me when I use fear as my excuse in not taking that first step.  I mean really, let’s put things into perspective…what could we possibly have in our lives that would make us not take that first step if we truly believed that God is “for” us? 🙂  Ooooh I forgot about our “want to’s” but we’ll keep this topic for another post. 🙂

Come on, let’s jump zones!

2 thoughts on “The Known Zone

  1. Opportunities often pass by for those who don`t dare risk. But being a risk taker requires wisdom from God as well. We need to carefully examine if some things are worth risking. It`s also a great advantage to always be in the “known zone” but being able to step out and wander brings great wonders we might have overlooked.

    Like

Feel free to let me know what you're thinking. :)

