It’s Only Stuff

This is what is important in life...my family...not stuff.

This is what is important in life…my family…not stuff.

I couldn’t decide on what to write about this week, so I decided that I’m going to rant a bit. 🙂 This morning we awoke from a knock on our door at 5:30 from a neighbour.  He told us that our garage door was open and that our community mail boxes were broken into…again!  I went into the garage to check to see if anything was missing and it looked like it had just been searched, nothing taken. (But I’m worried that they were just looking to see what they could take the next time).  Then I thought I should check our cars and sure enough one had been gone through and this was how they gained access to our garage, they used the garage door opener that we keep inside the car.  Lately break ins have happened quite frequently where we live.  I don’t know why we are being targeted…maybe because of the location, maybe because a lot of residents here are older….who knows?

I try to understand the point of view of the person or people who go through our stuff or steal from us. In the past I have been able to say to myself, “If they go to lengths like these to take something from me then they must need it more than I do”.  But today I’m really struggling with this.  I’m feeling mad that someone has gone through our stuff and has entered our home (well our garage) with the intent to take something that is ours.  For some reason I’m having difficulty getting my thoughts to the point where I can “see” the point of view of the person who did this to us.  I think part of the reason is that this is not the first time this has happened now and secondly my neighbour told me she used to work with people who did this as a vocation, on purpose, to make money.  I know this sounds naïve and maybe it is, but for me it seems harder to “understand” people who steal from other people just to make a living.  For some reason I can “get it” that people who are hungry; addicted to substances; who have nothing, steal.  It’s another thing for me to wrap my head around the concept that some people do this just to make a living, like a regular job. This morning’s incident was not a random act, but one that had been planned a head of time.  Maybe that’s the difference?  I don’t know.

I just know that I’m sitting here writing this and am uncomfortable with how I’m feeling. What would Jesus want me to do about this?  During the second paragraph of this rant a story came to my mind that someone told me just the other day.  It went something like this: There was this young missionary couple who moved to a country, sold all that they had and brought with them possessions that they thought they would need while they stayed in this new country. They arrived and their belongings were unloaded outside the home that they would be staying in.  They went inside to talk with the current missionary who was leaving after having spent almost all of her life ministering to the people in this country.  When the couple went back outside it was to discover that all their belongings, all that they owned was gone.  The people who they were there to help took all that they had.  The older missionary spoke to them and said, “It’s only stuff”.

Three little words, “It’s only stuff”.  But what power they hold.  Puts things into perspective when we think this way doesn’t it?  It’s only stuff – I still have my life; It’s only stuff – I still have the ability to _____ (you fill in the blank).

Thanks for “listening”.

 

3 thoughts on “It’s Only Stuff

  1. Lindy, Don and all of our family members have had this done to us. Also a man who is in a motorized wheel chair had his car stolen from our garage. He never got it back. Our daughter {in- law} Karen had her car stolen from their drive way. Our son heard Chelsea bark and investigated. They had punched the lock out. Our kids live a few houses apart. They tried to pry the roof off of our 200 SX Datsun. I stopped a crook from stealing a former superintendent’s truck. He knew who it was and ran after him! He got everything back and turned him over to the police. This is something that happens all of the time. I am so sorry that it happened to you!!

    Like

Feel free to let me know what you're thinking. :)

