Waving The White Flag

Whale Watching 2010 540

“…and therefore I have hope…” Lam 3:21

Have you ever woken up to a day where you really didn’t want to get out of bed?  This is me today.  I woke up and all I could picture was someone on a battle ground frantically waving a white flag so that their enemy could see that they had given up, their last reserve had been exhausted and the only thing left for them to do was to wave the white flag and hope for some form of mercy.

So here I am waving my white flag and saying that I “feel” like I’ve had enough and want to give up.  However in my heart of hearts I know this is not an option that I can take. Psalms 55:22 tells me to give my burdens (cares, concerns, needs) to the Lord, and he will take care of me.  Mat 11:28 says for me to come to Jesus and give him my burdens and he will give me rest.  Psalms 121:2 reminds me that my help comes from the Lord.

OK this is all well and good but it doesn’t take away the fact that I “feel” like I want to crawl in a hole and not come out again.  That what I have on my plate today is too much for me to bear.  And there you have it…what is on my heart today is indeed too much for ME to bear.  On my own I certainly will continue to think and feel this way.  However what I need to do…no, what I MUST choose to do is to give my concerns to Jesus.  I need to trust that God will provide what I need to get through this day.  I must not hold onto my worries.  I must release them to the only One who can give me the rest from my thoughts today and that is Jesus.

Does this mean that I am going to feel instantaneously happy.  Let me check….nope…my spirit is still troubled.  But I am believing that as this day progresses and as I continue to lay my concerns at Jesus’ feet then I will be able to handle what ever this day brings.

Have you ever read Lamentations 3?  Man this guy had a lot on his plate and still he was able to pen Lam 3:21-23 “Yet, this I call to mind and therefore I have hope.  Because of the Lord’s great love we are not consumed, for his compassions never fail.  They are new every morning; great is your faithfulness.”  In Exodus 16 we are told the story of when God provided food the Israelites needed each and every day of their 40 years of wandering in the desert.  Everyone had exactly what they needed for that day, no more and no less, and then in the morning God provided for them again.

Here’s the thing…God gives each of us what we need every morning.  What this is telling us is that we are given what we need to get through each and every day.  This means that I don’t really have to be worrying about what tomorrow brings because God will provide for me everything I need again tomorrow morning and the next day and the next day. What I have to do is trust that what God has already given me for today will get me through today.

This is not the first time that God has had to get my attention in regards to trusting Him with my burdens…nor unfortunately will it be the last.  I am only thankful that He used my love for writing as a vehicle to capture my attention and get me to this place at this moment where I can say…This is the day that the Lord has made and I will [choose] to be glad in it.

Here’s to choosing hope [with expectation] that God’s compassions never fail.

 

One thought on “Waving The White Flag

Feel free to let me know what you're thinking. :)

