Lupins, Lobsters and Lilacs

Christie and Jenn's B Day 2014 004

Lupins remind me of being back home in New Brunswick.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

“And these are a few of my favourite things”…can you hear Mary Poppins singing?…No? Oh well, and so you get yet another glimpse of what it is like to be living in the head of Lindy.  Lupins are what’s got my attention today, so the lobsters and lilacs are going to have to wait for another time.

I was downloading (look at me using a technical term) pictures that were taken yesterday at my girls birthday party. (For clarity sake my “girls” are 30 and 26. Ouch! Did I really just type those two numbers?)  Where does the time fly?  Oops got side tracked… when I downloaded the pictures there were some images of lupins that I took from my Mom’s back yard while I was visiting in June. These pictures lead me to think about the things I like when I go back “home” for a visit.

Back “home” for me is New Brunswick.  I currently live out West and when I talk about being born out East people here automatically think that I come from Central Canada…Ontario.  East being Ontario…PLEASE! That IS NOT EAST!  So now when I get into a conversation I make a point of stating that I’m from DOWN EAST and PROUD to be a MARITIMER! 🙂 Something happens to people’s geography once they fly West and pass over the Rockies…something magical…and yet very…interesting.  Something magical being that there is no possible way that God has made a more beautiful place to live where you can look out each and every day and witness His majesty in the mountains and temporal rainforest that He created on the lands of British Columbia. Where in the winter you can ski in the morning and golf in the afternoon or vice versa. And something interesting is the fact that it seems that the buck begins and stops West of the Rockies.  Hence the reference to East being Central Canada. Guess it’s rather difficult to see over the Rockies to the rest of Canada. 🙂  (Now just in case I have offended anyone that has not been my intent.  I truly love my new home, but it has been a bit comical at times being a transplant from another province and viewing things from that perspective.) 🙂

Christie and Jenn's B Day 2014 008

I would peel away the petals until their hidden treasure was revealed.

Lupins remind me of New Brunswick, yes I know that these beautiful wild flowers bloom in other places, but they don’t bloom more beautifully than in New Brunswick.  There are literally seas of these flowers along the highways, fields and yards of local residents. Their colours so vibrant that they can’t help but capture the attention of driver and passenger alike as they drive through these landscapes painted along the highways of New Brunswick. As a child I would capture as many as I could hold in my hands then run to the side of my house where the sun was always just right and sit and peel away the petals until my hidden treasure of this flower’s seeds could be discovered.  These seeds were my own personal, secret piggy bank and these little round discs became my currency when I played my childhood games with my imaginary and real friends.

Christie and Jenn's B Day 2014 001

These flowers lull the child inside of us to dance the dance that they dance. One of true abandonment.

Mmmm I can just picture myself lying in a field of lupins, hidden from view and watching as these magnificent flowers dance and sway to their own tune above me, lulling the child in me to dare to dance their dance and once again feel that freedom that only a child has.  You know that child that each of us has still stuffed somewhere deep down inside, that child that comes out as a giggle, wiggle or jiggle that we do when we think no one else is looking.

Here’s to allowing ourselves to giggle, wiggle and jiggle like we used to do.

 

Feel free to let me know what you're thinking. :)

